EMMA S. CLARK MEMORIAL LIBRARY BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING September 21, 2022 7:30 p.m. Vincent R. O'Leary Community Room

MINUTES

I. Call to order

A regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Emma S. Clark Memorial Library Association was called to order at 7:30 p.m. by Christopher Fletcher, President. The following trustees of the Board, consisting of a quorum, were also present: Carol Leister, Vice President; David Douglas, Treasurer; Suzanne Shane, Secretary; Anthony Parlatore; Deborah Blair; Orlando Maione; Angeline Yeo-Judex. Absent with excuse: Linda Josephs. Also present was Ted Gutmann, Library Director; Robert Johnson, Acting Recording Secretary.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited, followed by a moment of silence in memory of the previous Library Director, Ed Elenausky.

II. Period for Public Expression

No one wished to speak.

III. Approval of Minutes of previous meeting

Ms. Blair made a motion to approve the minutes from the regular Board meeting held on August 17, 2022, seconded by Mr. Maione and passed unanimously.

IV. President's Report

Mr. Fletcher reported that Angeline Yeo-Judex will be a member of the Library's Investment Committee.

V. Treasurer's Report & Approval of Warrants

Mr. Douglas reported that all of our bills are paid and everything is up to date. Ms. Leister made a motion to approve the warrant, seconded by Ms. Blair, and passed unanimously.

VI. Director's Report

The attached Director's report was read and discussed.

VII. Committee Reports:

Buildings and Grounds: Mr. Maione gave a brief report on the status of the memorial bench for the lobby.

Personnel: No meeting, no report.

Investment: Mr. Fletcher reported that the committee met with the Library's financial advisor on September 7, and that Mr. Douglas is performing a review of the portfolio to identify any individual securities which may not be in line with the Library's values.

VIII. OLD BUSINESS

- Endowment Fund investments Covered in Investment Committee report.
- Mr. Gutmann reported that he is working on compiling some of the Library's existing policies and procedures with regard to donations into one encompassing policy for the Board to review.

IX. NEW BUSINESS

- 2023 Holiday/Days Closed Ms. Blair made a motion to approve the 2023 Holiday/Days Closed schedule as proposed, seconded by Mr. Douglas, and passed unanimously.
- 2023 Board Meeting Dates
 Ms. Shane made a motion to approve the 2023 Board Meeting Dates with a change to the proposed schedule that would eliminate the July 2023 meeting, and add a meeting on December 20, 2023 in its place; the motion was seconded by Mr. Fletcher, and passed unanimously.
- 2022 Staff Appreciation Date / Gifts The date for this year's event was set at Friday, November 4, from 5:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m., in the Vincent R. O'Leary Community Room.
 Mr. Gutmann reported that based on feedback from the staff and the changing nature of our culture he is recommending that cash gifts would be more appropriate and genderneutral as opposed to physical items as gifts. The Board was in agreement.
- Early Close December 11, 2022 for holiday parade Mr. Gutmann reported that the Library--for safety reasons and as per past practice--should close early on December 11, 2022 at 3:00 pm for the holiday parade since Main Street will be used for staging and closed to traffic from that time until the parade ends. The Board was in agreement.
- Remaining COVID protocols
 Ms. Shane made a motion to eliminate the requirement for unvaccinated people to wear a mask while in the Library, seconded by, Mr. Maione,
 Yes (Blair, Douglas, Fletcher, Leister, Maione, Shane, Yeo-Judex) No (Parlatore).
 The motion carried.

Mr. Parlatore made a motion to authorize the director to remove the COVID plexiglas barriers, seconded by Mr. Maione and passed unanimously.

• Motion to enter executive session to discuss the financial history of a particular person At 8:05 p.m., Mr. Fletcher made a motion to enter executive session to discuss the financial history of a particular person, seconded by Ms. Shane, and passed unanimously. Present in executive session: Blair, Douglas, Fletcher, Leister, Maione, Parlatore, Shane, Yeo-Judex, Gutmann. At 8:11 p.m., Mr. Fletcher made a motion to exit executive session and return to public session, seconded by Ms. Shane, and passed unanimously.

X. ADJOURNMENT

Mr. Maione made a motion to adjourn at 8:12 p.m., seconded by Ms. Shane, and passed unanimously.

Respectfully submitted, Suzanne Shane., Secretary

Recorded by: Robert Johnson